The ancient architecture of the village nestling in the mountain pastures has almost completely disappeared, with only one or two buildings still recalling this period, the Saint-Pierre and Saint-Paul chapel, which probably dates from 1567 and is probably the oldest building. The Ailefroide hotel was built in 1896 by Pierre Rolland, and opened on 10th July 1898, then extended in 1931 shortly before the road was opened in 1932.
Today paved and wooded, the Pré de Madame Carle was once a fine prairie, belonging to a certain Mrs Carle (16th century). The widow of Antoine Carle, a councillor at the Grenoble parliament, and the mother of ten children, she is said to have managed her inheritance wisely.
The past of Pelvoux is also peopled by famous mountain climbers such as Durand, Puiseux, Tuckett, Whymper and Coolidge, who were the first to climb the mountain summits here. Some of them gave their names to the summits, which have remained engraved in the landscape. The refuges, both ancient and modern, are inseparable from the history of mountaineering in the Alps, and are also part of the heritage of Pelvoux.
This house, the Ailefroide Chalet Hotel, rich in history, has seen for more than a century the greatest mountain climbers pass through and continues to uphold the values of hospitality and conviviality that are part and parcel of mountainous regions.
The hotel was built in partnership with the railway company, which at that time was in full development. A line directly linking Ailefroide to Paris enabled the scientific community to come and explore the Ecrins Park.
In the 1960s, such captains of industry as André Citroën, a lover of the mountains, came to relax and renew his energies at the chalet.
Archaeological research has confirmed a human presence and occupation of the medium and high mountain areas from the prehistoric period (9000-3000 B.C.). The presence of pastoral building at altitude has also been identified from the middle of the 3rd millennium B.C